A Clifford Cup Final to Remember

A Clifford  Cup Final to Remember
A Clifford Cup Final to Remember
The Dialog Rugby Clifford Cup came to a close with the final encounter between Air Force SC  and Havelocks SC.

For the Air Force, this was a historical encounter, for the last occasion that an Air Force Rugby Team entered the finals was back in 1986 where they triumphed as Champions. The team in 1986 was led by Lakshman Caldera where Air Force defeated Police 10 points to 8. This year incidentally Air Force defeated Police in the Semi-Finals 32 points to 23 to book a place in the finals.

This year, after a lapse of 33 years the Air Force Team made it to the finals, where unfortunately they lost to Havelock SC 40 points to 21.  At lemons, the scores read 21 – 14 in favor of the Havies. Air Force #15 Charith Senevirathne’s kick started proceedings and the Air Force players made sure they played in the opposition half to equalize and put pressure on the Havies.

The Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy, Chief of Staff, Air Vice Marshal Sumangala Dias, members of the Air Force Board of Management, a large number of Officers and airmen were in attendance and cheered their Air Warriors who made history on the rugby field.

1986 - SLAF Rugby Champions