In celebration of World Children’s Day, SLAF Seva Vanitha Unit steered “Children’s Day” programmes at all SLAF establishments as a concept of the Chairperson SLAF Seva Vanitha Unit Mrs. Charmini Pathirana in accordance with the guidance of Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana. The event was organized with the intention to break the monotony of the children who had been confined to their homes owing to the pandemic and the other unrest circumstances that had occurred in the country in recent periods. The main event was held yesterday (02 October 2022) with the graceful presence by the Commander of the Air Force and the Chairperson of SLAF Seva Vanitha Unit at the Air Force Museum – Ratmalana. The event was organized under the supervision of the Base Commander SLAF Base Ratmalana, Air Vice Marshal Nihal Jayasinghe.  

The event was commenced with the arrival of the Commander and the Chairperson to the Museum premises. They were welcomed by the kids of St. Paul’s Girl’s School - Milagiriya. Then, kids from Lower Kindergarten and Upper Kindergarten at Pre - School SLAF Ratmalana, students from Visakha Vidyalaya, St. Thomas College and Musaeus College were show cased their talents, adding even more glamour to the event. More than 450 youngsters attended to the event, which also included a musical performance, an air dog show, a magic show, adventure games, face painting including a kids play area and a play station zone. Besides, a medical screening by the SLAF Hospital Ratmalana and a Dental screening by the Dental Therapist Training School – Maharagama was organized free of charge for all the children, prior to the commencement of the event.

The jovial evening was attended by Chief of Staff of the SLAF, Members of the Air Force Board of Management together with their ladies, Base Commander SLAF Base Ratmalana, President Seva Vanitha Unit SLAF Base Ratmalana Mrs. Eshani Jayasinghe, Commanding Officer Air Force Museum Ratmalana, Air Commodore Charith Bodhiseela, Secretary Seva Vanitha Unit, Wing Commander Suresh Fernando, members of the Seva Vanitha Unit and all service personnel of the Base with their families.


SLAF Station Colombo

SLAF Station Batticaloa

SLAF Station Mirigama

SLAF Station Sigiriya

SLAF Station Pidurutalagala

SLAF Academy China bay

SLAF Base Anuradhapura

SLAF CTS Diyatalawa


SLAF Base Katunayake

SLAF Station Morawewa

SLAF Station Mullaittivu


SLAF Station Katukurunda

SLAF Station Palavi

SLAF Base Hingurakgoda

SLAF Station Iranamadu

SLAF Station Ampara

SLAF Station Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA)

SLAF Station Koggala

SLAF Station Palaly

SLAF Base Vavuniya

SLAF Station Weerawila